Home / MW Presents / MW: May 2 – Yumiko Yoshimoto (JP)/Pedersen/Broscoe+ E Millar solo- Ottawa

MW: May 2 – Yumiko Yoshimoto (JP)/Pedersen/Broscoe+ E Millar solo- Ottawa

2 mai, 2019
General Assembly, Ottawa
doors 7:30pm, music 8pm

Yumiko Yoshimoto! E Millar CD Release!

Craig Pedersen – trumpet
David Broscoe – baritone saxophone
E Millar – solo amplified objects

We are super excited to bring our friend from Japan, Yumiko Yoshimoto, to Ottawa to play. She’ll be joined by Craig Pedersen on trumpet, and other guests from Ottawa.

In addition to this, we’re very pleased to present the Ottawa CD release for E Millar’s solo project.

Read below for more information about each act and to buy the CDs!

Yumiko Yoshimoto

https://soundcloud.com/yoshimotoyumiko https://yoshimotoyumiko.blogspot.com/

With a background in rock music, Tokyo-born Yumiko Yoshimoto began playing her free guitar improvisation style in 2006 at the performance of a visual artist, HIGUMA Haruo in Echigo Tsumari Art Triennale (Niigata).  Since
then she has performed many times, solo, and with many other musicians,
dancers, poets, in films etc.

She plays in the bands”Aun no Kakokyu” (w / SUGO Fumito : drums, 4 + 4 = 8
: bass), “lammtarra” (w / KIRA Ken’ichi : double bass, TSUYUKI Tatsuya :
drums), “Amemiya Hiraku Unit” (w / AMEMIYA Hiraku: piano, ARINAGA Michito: tuba, KAIDO Yutaka : contrabass, MORI Junji : reeds & flute, KITAWA Naoko : flute), “To Chu Ka So” (w / HASHIMOTO Hideki : trumpet, SUZUKI Chiho : bandoneon, SHIMADA Toru : drums, Hoimi) (W / Miho : keyboard, Eko: trumpet, Rika : bass, Chikusa : drums). In 2014 she released her
self-made live recording solo CD-R” Midnight Pendulum “.

In May 2012 she first performed in Europe with Jozef Spodniak (keyboard,
theremin, voice) in Prague, Czech Republic. She returned to Europe in 2016
and 2018 performing in Serbia, Hungary, Austria, Czech Republic, Poland,
Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Lithuania, France, Netherlands, Germany,
Switzerland,, Bulgaria and Slovakia. She participated in the Water Tower
Art Festival in 2016 (Bulgaria).  At this time she also released the album
” Yoshimoto / Griciute / Mikalkenas “( Sculdubuldu ) as trio with Gailė
Gricítė (piano / Lithhania) + Arnas Mikalkėnas (drums / Lithhania)

In 2017 she began to play daxophone (instrument invented by German
guitarist Hans Reichel) and she was part of the Nakanojo Biennale (Gunma)
with Ingebjjrg Torgersen (video / performance / Norway) and Adrian Åsling
Sellius (saxophone / Sweden).

Craig Pedersen

Craig Pedersen is trumpet player, and experimenting musician living in Montréal. He plays in the collaborative duos Sound of the Mountain (with Elizabeth Millar) and Provisional Mailorder (with Anne-F Jacques). He is a member of Ensemble Supermusique and the Ratchet Orchestra. He also occasionally leads the Craig Pedersen Quartet, a band featuring Linsey Wellman (fetNAT), Bennett Bedoukian (Horseman, Pass By) and Thierry Amar (GY!BE).

Since 2011, Craig has released thirteen albums, or more, ranging between composed material to improvisation. An active and avid touring artist, he has played across Canada, in Japan, Taiwan, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Australia and Mexico.Recent highlights of his work includes collaborations and/or performances with Toshimaru Nakamura, Tetuzi Akiyama, Shinkan Tamaki, Zhao Cong, Yong Yandsen, Gudinni Cortina, Manfred Werder, Pauline Oliveros, Jean Derome, Joane Hetu, Ian Birse and Laura Kavanaugh (Instant Places), Vicky Mettler, Bennett Bedoukian and Mark Molnar, as well as many others.

His current interests lay in collaboration, impractical mail-order cassettes, holding long notes and the notions of developing an improvisational language as a form of composition.

David Broscoe

Currently a member of rakestar. Founding member of rake with Rory Magill and Jamie Gullikson. Past member of generator.  Studied with George Zukerman (bassoon) and Billy Robinson (saxophone). Has shared the stage with many inspiring musicians including Damo Suzuki, Victor Feldbrill, and Phil Minton.

E Millar

E Millar is Elizabeth Millar’s solo project :

breath, machine hums, metal surfaces, air
short sound pieces for fans, propellers and clarinet

Elizabeth Millar is a sound-artist, clarinetist and performer, based in Montreal since 2009. Engaging with experimental music, sound art, noise, free improvisation and self-made instrument building, her creative practice explores the merging of acoustic and electronic textures with amplification and extended techniques.Active locally, nationally and internationally she has performed throughout Canada and in Australia, Japan, Taiwan, Vietnam, Malaysia and Singapore. She is a member of Sound of the Mountain, an amplified clarinet and trumpet duo with Craig Pedersen. She also performs with Montreal-based Ensemble Supermusique, interpreting graphic scores and gestural improvisations.She has collaborated with many Quebecois and Canadian artistsincluding Joane Hétu, Erick d’Orion and Anne-F Jacques; and international artists including Isabelle Duthoit, Franz Hautzinger, Tetuzi Akiyama and Toshimaru Nakamura.

The store is online! Dismiss